The Third Dr. S. Jones Memorial prize was conferred on Prof (Dr.) T. Balasubramanian, Vice Chancellor, Chettinad University, Chennai has made commendable research contributions to marine biology, toxicology, marine biodiversity and conservation.

Prof. Balasubramanian is an efficient teacher and an excellent researcher with an illustrious and productive career spanning over 40 years in various capacities and has successfully guided 25 students for their doctoral degrees and 10 for their M. Phil degrees. He has published 240 peer reviewed research papers, 12 books, 10 laboratory manuals and several scientific articles in simple language for the public and other stakeholders.

Prof. Balasubramanian was instrumental in upgrading the CAS in Marine Biology to Centre of Excellence in Marine Biology in 2004 and later as an independent unit under the Faculty of Marine Sciences of the Annamalai University in 2010. Prof. Balasubramanian has served as Director, CAS in Marine Biology (2000-2010) and was the Founding Dean of Faculty of marine Sciences of Annamalai University from 2010-2013.

View Citation     View Certificate     View Prize Guidelines