This award is constituted by MBAI to honour one of its past Presidents, the late Dr. M. Devaraj

Dr. S. Jones Memorial Award ( now renamed as Deveraj Memorial Award)  was presented to Ms. Nayruti S Bhattji and Nandini Ray Chaudhury, Coastal Zone Studies Project, Geology, The Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda, Samdi Pole Naka, Bajwada, Vadodara- 390001,Gujarat for the best oral presentation entitled “Sedimentation pattern in pirotan reef, Gulf of Kuchchh, India: A case study” in connection with the International Symposium Marine Ecosystems- Challenges and Opportunities (MECOS 09) During 9th to 12th February 2009 at The Presidency Hotel, Kochi.